Skip to content

Dance, Dance

April 11, 2011

Dear Oracle,
 
So my middle school has always had dances. But this dance is different. At this next dance, I’m going to have a boyfriend. And I’m pretty sure he’s going to want to dance with me and I really want to dance with him. But i don’t know how. I don’t mean slow dancing (I got that covered ;P), but I mean to the fast songs. At all the other dances, I’ve just danced with my best friends, and it wasn’t really dancing, it’s more like jumping up and down. We kind of treat it like a concert. But the guys don’t, so I don’t know how to dance with him. I’ve already tried google, and it was so not helpful. I mean, we’re 13 and 14, grinding is sooo not something we want to do. So what do I do?
 
Sincerely,

Knowledge-less Dancer

Dear Knowledge-less Dancer,

The Oracle is now having flashbacks to her own delightfully awkward middle-school dances! (grin)

There is no specific way to dance with your boyfriend. Most of the time girls don’t dance to fast songs with their boyfriends, they dance beside them in the exact same way they’d dance with their friends. So you can jump up and down all you want, or rock your solo moves, and he’ll dance however he wants to.

Your boyfriend may be feeling the same confusion you’re feeling. He might be relieved when he sees that all you’re going to do is dance beside him and not expect him to swing you around the dance floor. It’s also possible he’d prefer to dance with his guy friends instead of being the only guy in a group of girls. Either way, the important thing is that you’re understanding of each other.

Enjoy the dance!

The Oracle of Dating

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maddy permalink
    August 5, 2012 12:39 am

    Ha ha thanks I’ll remember this! Thanks

Leave a Reply

