Skip to content

Online Love?

November 28, 2010

Dear Oracle,

So there is this boy I met online (lame I know), and he’s really cool to talk to and I’ve sort of kinda fallen for him! It is so confusing because well he lives in the states (I’m from Central America) but like sometimes he talks to me and he’s really sweet but sometimes he’s all one word phrase. I don’t know what to do. I know it is so dumb to fall for someone who lives far away and whom I met online (I’m sure he’s not really a 40 yr old creeper). Should I still talk to him? What do I do? Help!

Thanks,

Confused

Hi Confused,

I won’t mince words here: I’d let this guy go. Making an online connection when you’re so far away from someone isn’t practical, especially if you’re a teen. Plus, although you say you’re sure he’s not a “40 yr old creeper”, you don’t really know. It would NOT be safe just to get on a plane or go meet him, so what’s the point?

It doesn’t even sound like your conversations are that stimulating. You should ask yourself what you’re really attracted to here – is it him, or the idea of him?

If it’s romance you’re looking for, take a look at the guys you know in real life, and see if there’s any potential. Don’t waste time chatting with someone you’ll never meet when you could be missing the real opportunities that are around you.

Peace Out,

 The Oracle

2 Comments leave one →
  1. anonymous permalink
    December 13, 2010 2:52 am

    okay i guessed i needed to do that but i guess i just wanted to hear it comming from someone like profesional on that like you, and you got some fair points so thank you so much for helping!

  2. March 29, 2011 1:43 am

    i really like the book

Leave a Reply

