Skip to content

Not Sure

September 15, 2010

Hello Oracle!

So I met this guy a couple days ago and he gave me his number. We started texting that night, and he started telling me nice things, like that I was attractive. The thing is, my friends have a bad feeling about him. He’s being very nice to me, and he compliments me a lot (I’ve been struggling with my weight for years). Should I just stop everything, or continue to see what’s going to happen? Please help me!!

Not Sure

Hi Not Sure,

Ask yourself this: are you hesitant about this guy because your friends have a bad feeling about him, or because you do? If you didn’t have some doubt about this guy, you wouldn’t have emailed the Oracle.

If your friends are, indeed, good friends, then they’re probably looking out for you. Ask them WHY they have a bad feeling about him. Is he too old for you? Does he seem like a “player”?

It’s always great to hear someone say nice things about you. If you’re insecure, then it’s a much-needed ego boost. Take it, and run with it! Remember that you don’t owe him anything because of his compliments. You’re obviously aware that some guys use flattery to manipulate a girl into giving them what they want. Make sure his compliments don’t make you behave in a way you’re not comfortable with.

Trust me: he’s not going to be the only guy to see your beauty. So don’t rush into anything with him just because of that. If your gut gives you a green light, you can get to know him through group dates before going out with him solo. But it sounds like you’re hesitant for a reason…so it’s up to you to figure out what that reason is, perhaps with some help from your friends.

Good luck.

The O.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Oracle Fan permalink
    November 21, 2010 5:57 am

    Really good advice

Leave a Reply

